HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 17

IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

TWENTY-NINTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION

BY REPRESENTATIVE LEDOUX

Introduced: 3/6/15 Referred:

A RESOLUTION

1	Urging the President of the United States and the United States Congress to ensure that
2	federal agencies do not ban certain ammunition; and urging the governor to encourage
3	the manufacture of firearms and ammunition in Alaska.
4	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:
5	WHEREAS the Second Amendment to the Constitution of the United States protects
6	the right of all citizens to keep and bear arms; and
7	WHEREAS art. I, sec. 19, Constitution of the State of Alaska, clarifies that the right
8	to keep and bear arms is an individual right in Alaska; and
9	WHEREAS the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives is proposing
10	to ban the import, manufacture, and distribution of certain 5.56 millimeter ammunition; and
11	WHEREAS the ban of 5.56 millimeter ammunition unfairly and illegally persecutes
12	American businesses; and
13	WHEREAS Alaska law protects the right to manufacture firearms and ammunition in
14	this state; and
15	WHEREAS Alaska has a substantial interest in attracting industry to the state; and

1 **WHEREAS** Alaskans need good jobs;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature respectfully urges the President
of the United States to prevent federal agencies from banning 5.56 millimeter ammunition;
and be it

5 **FURTHER RESOLVED** that the Alaska State Legislature respectfully requests the 6 United States Congress to make any necessary statutory changes to prevent federal agencies 7 from banning 5.56 millimeter ammunition; and be it

8 **FURTHER RESOLVED** that the Alaska State Legislature urges the Governor to 9 make every effort to attract, secure, and provide the conditions for success for an Alaska 10 firearms manufacturing industry.

11 **COPIES** of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Barack Obama, President of 12 the United States; the Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr., Vice-President of the United States and 13 President of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable John Boehner, Speaker of the U.S. House of 14 Representatives; the Honorable Mitch McConnell, Majority Leader of the U.S. Senate; the 15 Honorable B. Todd Jones, Director of the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and 16 Explosives; and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Dan Sullivan, U.S. 17 Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska 18 delegation in Congress.